top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJustina Martino

Reading Blog Two: Searching For Silence

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this post. As I mentioned in my brainstorm blog I am very sensitive to a lot of noise, and the idea of also taking sounds out of my daily life as Cage has done (especially with New York and something like the sounds of poverty) is really intriguing. I think that there is something truly beautiful about forcing people into accepting silence. Many times silence makes people feel incredibly uncomfortable or that the time spent doing nothing but living in the no noise is time wasted. Before we had music so accessible and digital sounds there was only the noise around us. It is very odd to think of a world that is blasted with car horns, engines, ads, music everywhere, and much more. Many people try to escape the dread of surrounding noise by escaping the populated areas and going into nature, as the reading said there was a moment where someone wished they could have enjoyed the forest sounds more over the scripted musical notes. Maybe silence is the eye to bring peace into our lives, and nature is the key to that. One cannot invent nature, the sounds that happen are natural, peaceful, cannot be recreated to the true purity of nature, and are so soft. The idea of a silent performance seems rather unoriginal but the most original in all. I found it quite humorous that many people did indeed leave, that the idea of sitting for a show to be “nothing” is quite a buzzkill if you don't understand the meaning behind it. Included in my pictures are places in the world I find silence.






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page